Happy little hippo

I love hippos. They are not fluffy, nor are they cuddly, they are not even particularly friendly, but I love them! I’ve been lucky enough to spend quite a lot of time in South Africa over the past few years, and hippos were one of the few big African animals I have every seen truly wild. On my first visit to the S.A. I heard one in the river one night about 100 yards from our camp. It made a funny noise, a kind of “gawuuuuuumpa”. I decided it would be a good idea to seek out the hippo and ran off excitedly into the bushes, and into the dark. Foolish, yes, as hippos kill more people than any other animal. I know! Who’d of funked it?  I only discovered this fact when I returned from my mission, thankfully unharmed. Anywho, seeing hippos having a little playful splash around in the moonlight captured my heart. It was my first wild African animal encounter, and I will never forget it. 

So, when I was asked to make a present for a little boys 1st birthday, a hippo seemed the perfect choice. And here he is;

Blue Hippo

Blue Hippo

He was delivered this morning to be unwrapped this afternoon by his new owner. 

Leave a Reply

