Yucky rainy Sunday.

Yucky rainy Sunday

Yuck! Look at how nasty and grey it is out there! Bleugh! 

It’s horrid, and I don’t like it. Although, I always tend to be more productive on rainy days. I get all those little things done that I’ve been meaning to do. Those silly little things that get written down on various to do lists. However, I tend to end up with many, many lists, written in various places, at various times, and then I don’t know where to start, so I just ignore them and hope they will go away or get done by fairies. The fairies never come, and the lists just get longer! Every now and then I look at the lists, and then wistfully look out of the window…. “the sun is out” I cry, “I must make the most if it before it goes into hiding again!”, after all this is Britain, and the sun doesn’t seem to like us much here, so we must make it feel welcome in the hope that it will stay. The sun has been out quite a lot of late which is good, but this is bad for the lists…. they get ignored, and so grow in protest! I dedicate rainy days to making the lists feel important, that they have done their job and served me well. Today, despite rainy, was a good and productive day.

The rain also makes me hungry. Ravenous in fact. The only cure is comfort food, oh and tea. Lots of tea. And of course, tea needs cake, they are best friends! You can’t deny them of each other. So, I baked a cinnamon raisin loaf (yum!) in my breadmaker (cheating I know, but it gave me more time for list tackling). And for dinner I made one of my favorite comfort foods, shepherds pie. I found a great recipe on allrecipes for “anything goes shepherds pie. I’ve made it a few times and its great, so I thought I wold share the recipe with you:

Anything Goes Shepherds Pie

Ingredients

4-5 large potatoes
500g minced lamb/beef
1 onion, finely chopped
12 mushrooms, sliced
2 carrots, peeled and sliced
1 OXO Cube
1 tablespoon Worcestershire sauce
1 (400g) tin baked beans
1 (400g) tin chopped tomatoes
3 tablespoons of Bisto
1 tablespoon butter
60ml milk

Preparation
    Peel and chop the potatoes, and place into a pan to boil with a pinch of salt.
    Brown the mince off in a pan, then add the mushrooms, carrots and finely chopped onion. Finally add the Worcestershire sauce and the OXO cube. When this is cooked through, put the browned mince in the bottom of a large casserole dish, and add the beans and tomatoes.
    Don’t worry if it looks sloppy, it won’t soon!
    Place in a preheated oven to about gas mark 6, and leave to warm through whilst the potatoes finish cooking.
    Once your potatoes are finished, drain and mash them, adding the butter and milk to make a creamy potato mix.
    Remove the casserole dish from the oven, and sprinkle the mince mixture with the gravy garnules, stiring until the mixture becomes thick, this is really important or the mash will sink!
    Spoon the creamy mashed potato over the top of the meat mixture and gently spread it out, rake it over with a fork and place back in the oven for 5 -10 minutes, or until golden and crispy. It is now ready to serve!

Leave a Reply

