1st ever quilt

Here is a sneaky peek at my very first attempt at making a patchwork quilt.

I bought the fabric when visiting my amazingly awesome friend Laura who lives in Hereford. I’m thinking that she should be given the title of Creative Director here at Gizmo and Stitch because she always has such brilliant ideas for things I could and should make. Our tastes are so similar it’s scary! She is my soul mate in female terms and I doth love her very much.

Anywho, I digress. I fell in love with the little bundle of various fabrics as soon as I saw them, and I instantly envisaged them as a patchwork quilt. I scoured the internet for a pattern that matched the image I had in my head and found this one. It’s so straightforward to follow with lots of lovely pictures to help along the way (thanks Kelly!).

Cutting out all the many, many pieces was a tad tedious, but once I started stitching it became dangerously addictive. I couldn’t stop! I was working late into the night, and every time I told myself to step away, it wouldn’t let me. “Just one more block Amy”  it would whisper. I would lay in bed unable to sleep thinking about it!

I loved how it all started coming together, it was so very satisfying. I was thrilled with how it turned out. But now I have a problem. I have no idea how to bind and quilt the bloody thing (attaching the wadding and backing that completes the quilt). I’ve looked in my many quilting books, and I understand it in principle, I’m just a little scared to take the next step incase I mess it all up and I can’t undo what was did. So for now I have folded it neatly until I’m feeling brave enough to take the plunge. It’s still calling to me…. It’s a little unerving. It may have to wait until September when I join a quilting class and have a little guidance. I’m such a wuss and a loser.

One thought on “1st ever quilt

Leave a Reply

