Squeak!

It was a fairly typical day in the sewing laboratory, the creations were mooching, the knitting needles were clicking, the sewing machine was whirring, and as usual a few mild expletives passed by my lips as a result of the typical craft related injuries.

Knit, purl, stitch, stuff, repeat! I was on a roll, the knitting needles were practically smoking! But then something caught my attention. Something, or indeed someone, was tugging on my trouser leg. ‘Peculiar’, I thought briefly, but then again stranger things have happened in the sewing laboratory so I wasn’t entirely surprised. I glanced down to find there was a little knitted mouse gazing back at me.

“Well hello there little fellow, where did you come from?” I asked, already suspecting the answer. The little knitted mouse glanced in the direction of the little blue knitting case. “I should have guessed” I said with a smile. I picked him up and placed him on the shelf.

I knew exactly who should become the owner of this orphan little mouse. My 2nd cousin Sarah gave birth to her first child a couple of weeks ago, a baby boy called Ronnie. He was born prematurely but is thankfully making good progress.

The little mouse was very excited and very proud to belong to and look after little baby Ronnie. He was keen to look his best to meet his new owner and requested that I make him something smart to wear. I set about making him a little blue waistcoat and red jacket.

When he was all dressed up I tucked him carefully in a box and posted him off to his new home. Congratulations on the birth of your beautiful baby, we are all wishing you both well and sending lots of love. Xx

Leave a Reply

