Rock Horror and Rocky Road

I’m having a rather delayed reaction to Halloween today; I have got  a sudden and unexplained urge to watch The Rocky Horror Picture Show! My all time favourite B movie Sci-fi horror.

“What a pleasant way to spend the afternoon” thought I. Of course any act of afternoon film indulgence should always be accompanied by a cup o’tea and a yummy treat; something sweet to give a much needed sugar boost to power through the usual afternoon slump that often makes me fall prey to an unexpected snooze. I fell victim to such a snooze attack yesterday while attempting to watch Downton Abbey. The wonderful Mr Sharp got me the boxset of the first series on Monday, and I couldn’t wait to start watching it. After a busy morning knitting handwarmers for christmas gifts, I settled down with a steaming mug of nettle tea, and pulled a blanket over my knees. There I was, all comfy cozy, enjoying the delectable british accents and fantabulous costumery, when BAM! I got knocked out into a two hour unexpected sleep! Fudged my whole afternoon up royally! So this time I have decided to out smart that sneaky afternoon slump snooze, by plying myself with enough sugar to leave me bouncing of the walls like a looney person in a padded cell, and what better sweet treat to accompany Rocky Horror, than Rocky Road! Nom nom nom!

The Nigella Lawson  Rocky road recipe is one of the best I have tried, but I do like to add a few little tweaks:

Ingredients

  • 200g Dark Chocolate (70% cocoa solids works best)
  • 3 tbsp Golden Syrup
  • 125g Soft unsalted Butter or Margarine
  • 100g Mini Marshmallows (chopped regular marshmallows work too)
  • 200g Digestive biscuits (rich tea or shortbread can also be used)
  • Icing sugar to dust
Tweaks
  •  add a handful of dried fruit such as raisins or cranberries
  • instead of biscuits, chuck in some malteasers, tastes great!
  • Adding some rice crispies gives a much lighter, crunchier texture. About 25 – 30g is usually enough.
To make
  1. Line a small to medium sized square baking tray with baking paper
  2. Place biscuits into a freezer bag and bash with a rolling pin or just the side of your fist until they’re broken into a mixture of everything inbetween dust and 50p size lumps. Put this to one side.
  3. In a large sauce pan melt the butter, chocolate and golden syrup over a gentle heat stirring it almost constantly until there are no or almost no more lumps of chocolate visible, then remove from the heat.
  4. Take biscuits, marshmallows and any additional delicious ingredients and pour into the pan of the chocolate mixture. Stir all this into the mixture until everything is completely covered.
  5. Tip the mixture into the lined baking tray making sure you get it all and spread the mixture in the tray until flat.
  6. Refrigerate this for at least 2 hours then dust with icing sugar and cut into fingers of sizes you deem necessary.
Simples! Just waiting for these bad boys to set in the fridge  so that I can settle down and sing my little heart to all the fantastic Rocky Horror songs. Might even bust a groove to the time warp, well, I gotta burn off those calories some how!
Altogether now, “It’s just a jump to the left……and then a step to the right……Put your hands on your hips…….You bring your knees in tight. But it’s the pelvic thrust that really drives you insane. Let’s do the time-warp again”. Loves it! Happy Wednesday folks, hope your having a good one!
Leave a Reply

