Winter warmer.

As you have probably guessed by now, I love to cook. I get a genuine feeling of joy out of cooking my wonderful man a hearty meal when he gets home from a hard day at work (I’m such an old-fashioned soul…). Now that the weather is getting a little colder, I want nothing more than to warm his cockles after his chilly commute home from work, and  a little bit of spice does the trick nicely.

A few months ago, while flicking through a copy of Good Housekeeping magazine, I found a Chilli Con Carne recipe that caught my eye. It stood out from the other recipes I had tried before because this one had dark chocolate listed as one of its ingredients. Weird huh? I just had to try it to see how it tasted. Well folks, tonight, I cooked that recipe, and…….. it was freakin’ amazing! By far the best Chilli I have ever had. As soon as I had scraped my bowl clean I made a bee line for my ‘pooter to share it with you all. I simply couldn’t let any of you miss out on this amazing recipe:

Dark Chocolate Chilli Con Carne.

Ingredients:

  • 2tbsp olive oil
  • 500g (1lb 2oz) beef mince
  • 1 large onion, finely chopped
  • 1 tsp each hot chilli powder and ground cumin
  • 3 tbsp tomato puree
  • 300ml (1/2 pint) hot vegetable stock
  • 400g tin chopped tomatoes
  • 25g (1oz) dark chocolate
  • 400g tin red kidney beans, drained and rinsed
  • Large handful fresh coriander chopped
  • sour cream to serve

Method:

  1. Heat 1 tbsp of the oil in a large pan and brown the beef. Remove from pan with a slotted spoon and set aside.
  2. Add the remaining oil to the pan, then fry the onion for  10 mins or until soft and golden. Stir in the spices and fry for 1 min, then return the beef to the pan. Add the tomato puree, hot stock and tomatoes. Bring to the boil, then simmer for 35-40 min or until sauce is well reduced and pulpy.
  3. Stir in the chocolate and kidney beans. Heat through. Finally add coriander and season.
  4. Serve with rice and a dollop of sour cream.

I added a few fresh chillies before simmering as Mr Sharp loves his food quite spicy. Our normally chatty dinner time was filled with nothing but yummy noises and gobbling, and despite being absolutely stuffed there was a small part of us that was genuinely sad that it had all eaten….. well, I did freeze half for another day, but don’t tell Mr Sharp or it may not be there when I go back for it! Best. Chilli. Ever. Nom. Enjoy! I certainly did 🙂

4 thoughts on “Winter warmer.

    • It’s so easy to make, and ridiculously tasty! The sour cream and fresh chillies really helped in it’s epicness. If you make it I’d love to hear what you thought of it, I hope you enjoy it as much as I did xx

    • It really does! I had never heard of using it before, but will always make my Chilli this way now. I can’t recommend this recipe strongly enough. When I tasted it, I couldn’t believe that it was me that had made it! It was just too tasty! x

Leave a Reply

