What I did today…..

Today was a good day, a very good day indeed. For starters, it was a much appreciated day off from an exceptionally manic run of work, so I treated myself to a lay in rather than being rudely awoken by my pesky alarm clock, ate breakfast in bed, stayed in my pyjamas until after lunch, and giggled in to a cup of tea whilst listening to back to back podcasts of the Xfm breakfast show that I have been storing up for many, many months but not had any time to listen to. I also got some quality time with my much-loved sewing machine who no doubt has been feeling a little abandoned of late. And this, my friends, is what I made:

A bow tie bib for baby Henry

Ta dah! You see, my incredibly wonderful friend Charlie has a beautiful baby boy named Henry, and next weekend Henry will be attending his very first wedding. Charlie has carefully selected a gorgeous little outfit for Henry to wear, and I thought I would make him a little bow tie bib to go with it.

In order to make the bow tie part of Henry’s bib, I used this tutorial from Mumtastic to guide me, but made a few alterations a long the way to fit my design. It was so much fun and so easy to make, and a good way to use up scraps of material. I have a feeling that bows will be very heavily featured in my up and coming creations.

Image courtesy of mumtastic.com

I then used this fantastic tutorial from craftpassion.com to create the bib. It comes with a brilliant free pdf bib pattern that will fit babies that are 6-12 months old.

Image courtesy of craftpassion.com

I decided to line my bib with some towelling to make it ultra absorbent. I simply bought a plain white towel from Ikea to cut the bib from and it worked perfectly well. I’m thrilled with how it all turned out, and I hope that little Henry and his mummy like it 🙂

4 thoughts on “What I did today…..

  1. That’s such a sweet idea; he’ll be the cutest one there, I’m sure! I think I’ll need to reunite with my sewing machine soon too, we had a bit of a falling out last time!

    • Thank you for your comment, and thank you for stopping by my blog :o) it’s always lovely to have visitors. You should definitely reconcile with your sewing machine, I’m sure that it is very sorry and will promise to be on it’s best behaviour for you. My sewing machine and I often have little tiffs, but thankfully we soon make up again. We can’t stay angry at each other for too long as we miss each other so! Xx

Leave a Reply

